510.654.0123 FD #: 1254
Chapel of the Chimes in Oakland is one of California's most beautiful historic buildings. We are a Crematory, Columbarium, and one of the top cremation service providers in Northern California.

Ratings & Reviews

10 Reviews | Write a Review

Here's what some satisfied customers have to say

Some of these reviews were submitted on other websites. We are not affiliated with or sponsored by these websites.

Cancel

Write a Review

Rating:
Quote:

Enter a quote such as: "I Love this company!"
Review:
Name:
City:
State:
Email:

(Optional, will only be used to communicate with you as needed.)
May 25, 2013 |
Client's rating: 5 of 5

"The venue was very tranquil and very accommodating. There was also a TV provided to play a digital picture slide show of our beloved grandmother. A kitchen for us to use as our dining area..." Entire review on Yelp. 

Mar 25, 2013 |
Client's rating: 5 of 5

"Back a few years ago, our family decided to have our grandmother's funeral at the Chapel of the Chimes (rather than the unnamed funeral home at the other end of Piedmont Ave that does not, in my opinion, do very good "display" jobs) and, boy, are we happy we did.  Chapel of the Chimes was extremely accommodating..." Read the entire review on Yelp.

Jan 24, 2013 |
Client's rating: 5 of 5

E.D. left us a 5-star review on Yelp!

You can view the entire review here.

Feb 24, 2012 |
Client's rating: 5 of 5

It took me two years to write this review.  My brother unexpectedly died from his injuries in a car accident and was on life support for four days.  Our family had to make the tough decision of taking him off and he passed away a day after being disconnected.  As we tried to navigate this sad path, a family friend suggested we look at the Chapel of the Chimes and my parents loved it right away.  We spoke with Tom, an older gentleman who was from the East Coast and he helped us in making plans for the service and everything.  He was very kind and answered our questions thoroughly, making suggestions as we went.  My brother was cremated and my mother was able to pick out a pretty urn for him.

Feb 4, 2012 |
Client's rating: 5 of 5

Gorgeous buildings, inside and out!  Plus - they are not just in the business of funerals:  Chapel of the Chimes hosts concerts - that's right - live music!  Not just some old dirges or organ concerts, either.

They have a hot jazz performance coming up on March 18, 2012 at 2pm - $15 cash at the door.  There is plenty of parking across the street - I can only imagine that the acoustics are fantastic - see you there!

Jan 28, 2012 |
Client's rating: 5 of 5

When I die, and I will die, I'd like my vessle to be taken to the desert. I'm not certain that I'd like to be handled as basically as Edward Abbey, who is rumoured to have been taken intact and laid out as a late afternoon feast for the birds and beasts that had been his company and material for all those years before. But as I'll be dead perhaps it won't matter. Take me there and do something useful.

Presently I'm sitting next to a dozen urns, with dozens more to my back. A seated paradox, in the sunshine typing to you on my Blueberry.

I've not taken an afternoon on the upper deck here before, just off Howe at the gate to the Olmstead treasure that was my original destination. But there was a chair in the shade that turned to face the sun and with a notebook and a head full of things to write I am seated in said chair, penning for now with my thumbs instead. A warm-up, as it were.

I don't know from the business, other than its penchant for opening the facility for the enjoyment and contemplation of more than immediate friends and family. Perhaps the practice flows from a recognition that the semi-permanent residents enjoy the company, the concerts, the Halloween spookfest. I've grooved on all these affairs at the COTC in an ambulatory way; if I were dust in a bottle perhaps I'd groove on them that way as well.

Feeling contemplative? Desiring for some quiet time removed from the always doing hustle bustle rest of your life? Need a little colour to diminish the winter pale? Come join me then here. There's a spare chair.

Jun 22, 2011 |
Client's rating: 5 of 5

So intricate and beautiful. Seems like a dream space.

Sep 1, 2012 |
Client's rating: 4 of 5

We attended a funeral here, and the chapel was beautiful. The employees are respectful and very helpful. The cemetery is right next door and the grounds are also beautifully maintained. The reception was at the Chapel as well, and the sandwiches were really good.

Jun 21, 2012 |
Client's rating: 4 of 5

This review is only for the building itself.  

We attended the Summer Solstice concerts yesterday.

The concerts were fun but the venue is something else.

I've never been to a columbarium before.  This one is something else.

I felt like I had fallen down Alice in Wonderland's rabbit hole.
It is totally surreal.

There are three levels and there are sections where you can peek up and down.
There are floor to ceiling Chambers"chambers" (don't know the correct name--basically glass shelves or drawers with the loved ones ashes) .  The ceiling must be 15-20 feet high.

Almost every room has a skylight.  There are many many rooms and the whole design is like an endless labyrinth.  

There are benches everywhere and sinks, sheers  and vases for the surviving loved ones to cut stems of the flowers .

There is a wide variety of crypts.  Many contain book-shaped urns with the person's birth and death dates.  Some have a line etched in (i.e.. "Loved forever").  All of these book like urns make you feel like you are in some GIANT library.

The glass enclosed "crypts" often contain photos, or other mementos of the departed evoking ofrenda like qualities.

I can't say I'm a fan of cemeteries but this columbarium is worth a visit just to be amazed by it's vast array of crypts.

Mar 3, 2011 |
Client's rating: 4 of 5

Westminster Abbey of the Bay Area.

10 results found. Viewing page 1 of 1.

Hours of Operation

  • 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM Sunday
  • 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM Monday
  • 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM Tuesday
  • 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM Wednesday
  • 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM Thursday
  • 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM Friday
  • 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM Saturday